top of page
Search
  • canjessrun

2020 Resolution - Reduce a shopping habit!

There are to parts to the decision of this years resolution, money and reducing waste.


Over two years ago I stopped using bottled shampoo and started using shampoo bars. This year I have started to use locally made soaps. I am still experimenting to find the best products to suit me. I am always looking for new products that are thinking about how their products impact our environment.

If you have any recommendations please let me know, just send me a DM @canjessrun on Instagram .


I don't remember what I was watching, however there was a program on about the production of clothing for the 'throwaway trend'. I am guilty of buying into this trend, but I have been always had the I would rather buy quality and spend the money on something that will last.


I gave myself rules, I could buy new if it was underwear/socks or it had be sustainably produced. Other than that any other new clothing would have tore secondhand.


As we have 2 months left in the year and I am reflecting on the year and my shopping habits I decided I would write about it.


Clothing wise I did buy a few new items that did not fit in my rules, all the items where related to activities. I have not spent any money on fashion items. I spent out on a pair of walking trousers, climbing trousers, running shorts, 2 x cycling shorts a running vest and 2 x t-shirts. I don't regret any of these, I did search for secondhand cycling shorts however I couldn't find what I wanted in my size. I did get a pair of secondhand walking trousers that where meant to be the same model of the pair I ended up buying new however the fit was different and shorter. I have kept them and I will wear them and have its always nice to have more than one pair when. doing multiple days out on the hills. As for the t-shirts well I have no excuse other than I needed something else to run in once I decided that I would like to turn the race t-shirts I own into a memory blanket. It became more of a necessity when running so much during the first lockdown and it being so warm. I just couldn't keep up on the washing (I cant stand putting a small wash on).



I realised that I needed to find companies that are active in. finding new way to produce products that are sustainable. At the end of the summer I found Sundried who support sustainability and have produced a Eco range. They have Eco Charge that is made from coffee grounds, they say that it uses the coffee's natural ability to block odour. It also states features such as UV protection, advanced sweat-wicking, and the fabric dries over 200 times faster than cotton. 

They also have the Eco Core. range made from recycled bottles, supporting their mission to help combat the global plastic pollution crisis.




I feel that I could still do better and I am still looking into different companies that provide quality products that will last and are stainable. I am 100% behind supporting small independent companies, and have seen during this year how important it is to shop local where possible.


2021 will see me tackling a number of challenges I have planed for 2020 and have not been able to go ahead. I will be searching for products that will help with these challenges and I hope to be able to support the people who are passionate in their products and support the achievements of everyone.


Oh and as for the money side of things, I have saved but I couldn't tell you how much. I've just spent the money on other things like a trip to Norway with Evossi for next summer so maybe Ive just spent my money differently this year.



If you would like to try any of Sundried product use my code: JESSLAIN for 50% off your order.

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page