top of page
Search
  • canjessrun

Happy feet.... Happy girl....

Like many people I have issues with my feet, ones that makes shoe shopping a challenge (I like shoes so this makes me sad).


When I was younger, and im not sure if I knew about it before but... My friend had come over after school and as it was I never had anything on my feet when at home even would venture outside the house barefooted. Anyway she pointed out my little toe, the fact that it stuck-up and was red. Fast forward a few years and trouble finding shoes and many blisters later the doctor finally decided that an operation might help. At 16 they operated on my toe to try and straighten it out. Yay I will be able to wear sandals with thin straps (not forcing the toe under the strap and having everything crossed that it will stay and not hurt). I ended up with a cool scar that makes it look like I had my to reattached to my foot. However the operation didn't work. The doctors did say that I could have it cut off, but I decided that I would rather a strange red stumped sausage toe that is a pain than no toe at all.



2016 I developed a Morton neuroma in my foot, this was three days after running London Marathon. I couldn't put any weight onto my foot, spent a month on crushes with a fetching moon boot (they thought I fractured my foot to start). X-ray and MRI scans later they decided that it was a Morton neuroma. I was sent to the podiatrist for insoles (I still use them in my work boots and just had new ones made) and have spent many hours trying to work on the flexibility of my calfs (I'm still waiting to see progress). I also developed Planta fasciitis, that gave pain around the heal and arch of the foot.


Finally the ability of my feet to look at shoes and somehow manage to blister. Ever since a teen walking over Dartmoor for Ten Tors and wearing boots I have had issues with blister, and later when I started running from my trainers. I have tried many different socks, blister plasters, creams and shoes/boots. I found out last year I had been wearing shoes too small for me and this hadn't helped.


I have spent so much money on my feet, and rightly so. My feet have taken me miles and when I find something that makes them happy well that's it I will stock up. I was looking for something to help with the Planta fasciitis and overall foot pain. I came across OOFOS .

"Made with proprietary OOfoam® technology, OOFOS absorb 37% more impact* than traditional foam footwear materials for the perfect blend of cushion and stability."

My first pair I walked many miles even taken them off road. I very much lived in them and if I could wear them all the time I would. I now have a pair of sliders that are my slippers then I have 5 pairs of flip-flops, two. pairs of shoes and a pair of boots. I would like to say this is NOT an advert, I am in no way sponsored by Oofos (would love to be its an expensive habit)



The lovely people of RunVenture in Tavistock have been so much help in finding a good pair of road and trail trainers to suit my feet. They have also introduced me to new socks to help reduce the blister.


At the start of this year I ended up with blister on top of blister multiple times, this area brace very dry and hard and I couldn't shift it. Every time I went for a run I would just get another blister. I then found 2Toms skin on skin blister dressing kit, now this stuff did miracles. Its something that I will be using for a long time.


My quest for happy feet will continue and I will carry on looking for anything to help. I am always happy for recommendations.

I would also like to add that I am not being paid for this, and everything I have spoken about I have paid for and can only report from my own personal experience.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page