top of page
Search
  • canjessrun

Racing stat

I have a fear of coming last, I think that goes back to the days of swimming galas and having everyone in the pool cheering for me because I was last and by some distance. So why would I race? Ok I do it for the medal and t-shirt.


When I think about the past 6 years and how things have changed from no training to not being able to train, I think about the races I have done.

The first real race came about in 2014, I only found out about it when visiting family. Anyway I needed to have that medal (the photo shown) and I had a few months to get out and train (I didn't utilise that time). October came around quicker than I wanted it too. I along with my partner at the time turned up to RunThrough Wimbledon Common half with no training under my belt to speak of, fully not prepared for what I was about to do. It started off ok, headed off nice and steady but the lack of ever really running before this was evident, I think my saving grace was the indoor cycling classes I had been teaching along side the other fitness classes had improved my fitness. Oh and I'm stubborn I started I will finish. I wanted that Womble.

I did a few more races, another half but this time for charity (Make a Wish) between 2014 to the pinnacle race in my life in 2016.


2016 saw me take on my biggest running challenge to date. 26.2 miles around the Capital. I managed to get a sport for London Marathon. As we have established I am an idiot. I headed to the start line with no real training under my belt. I was generally at my fittest I had ever been but was I really ready to run 26.2 miles? Answer: NO. I hated it, caused myself injuries and it put me off running. Why on earth did I think running was ever going to be for me? "I'm never doing a marathon again" "Slap me if I sign up for another one".


So where did I get the slight running bug? Well im not sure if I did, I started running again because I felt like I needed to. I was in a new job, new location and I needed to get my fitness back on track. 2018 was the year, I signed up for all these different races to ensure that I did run, and I got some bling for my efforts. Over 25 medals for 2018 and again for 2019. 2019 I finally achieved a sub 2hr half, this was a big thing for me I just couldn't do it.


I had decided 2020 was going to be my year to increase my distance I signed up for EMF, Smuggler's Scuttler, and the The Rat along with some shorter races. However these have now been pushed back to 2021 and don't worry I was raining this time.


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page