top of page
Search
  • canjessrun

The long slog

I feel like I have been in rehab for injures for a long time.



Well it all started back in August, over lockdown I had increased my running and I felt like I was getting somewhere. I have had issues with my calf muscles for as long as I can remember, so. after speaking to the relevant people I was put onto a new loading program to see if it would help (I want to run up hills pain free).






I spent weeks in the gym, my legs getting stronger and moving forward. I stopped running for a while and the slowly started to run short distances on the flat (not much fun I like the views from the hills). I started to increase my time at the bouldering wall, pushing myself each week to get better and stronger and my hands felt every bit of it. I started attending pilates classes again, and realised hw much I have missed teaching it over the past 5 years (I miss the people that came to my classes). As I missed the hills so much I decided that I should start walking the hills and enjoying the views feeling envious of those that passed me running. Then this idiot hurt her foot. It didn't stop me completely, I couldn't run and I had to adapt my gym sessions so I wasn't pushing through the toes but I managed to get my legs working still.


I managed a week on a walk run program well I managed two of the three runs, running pain free (still only on the flat). A Sunday outing to the bouldering wall ended in not quite literal tears I was being big and brave. After achieving a route one of the lads had being having trouble with, fell on my way back down. I just managed to not hit my face on the way down by some miracle, but landing awkwardly with my foot feeling like it touched my knee that was me done. I was meant to head back and run after the sessions at the wall.


So I have decided that I am going to do a diary of my journey back to running. So watch this space.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page