top of page
Search
  • canjessrun

When do you become a runner?

It's a bit of a funny question, but you see it asked on social media "Am I a runner now?".


Do you only become "classed" as a runner if you get these amazing PB's or run Ultras regularly? Or because a toe nail fell off?


Why do we feel the need to ask this question? Do we feel like an imposter otherwise?


Am I more of a runner if I run in the top brands, race briefs and singlet or the top trainers of the month? Why is it any different that the person who has a basic pair of trainers (hopefully they are running trainers) a t-shirt and shorts?


Yes I have fallen into this same mind set as others, I have made statements that I'm not a runner. Should I of automatically felt like I was a runner when my toe nail fell off? (I have seen a few posts asking if that makes them a runner now.) It didn't If anything it just mad me think I needed to get different trainers. Just because I'm not an elite runner, someone who runs ultras (I would like to get at least one under my belt), the fastest runner in the pack and I've not done some world record attempt run. Dose not mean I am not a runner. I am a runner, yes a real runner. how do I know that I am a runner? Well its because I put on my running shoes and I go out and run. We all have our reasons why we run, mine my have started because of work but it's not the only reason why. I run because I want to, it takes me to different places and I have met some amazing people because of it , well making some amazing memories. I run because it's another outlet for me to clear my head, manage daily stress and a way to deal with being away from home so much. I run because I can, I run at my pace, and I do it in some of the most beautiful places.



If you find yourself questioning yourself if you are a runner the answer is properly yes. If you just go for a gentle jog you are a runner, if you walk run a route you are a runner. Just because you aren't as fast as James or Sue on Instagram doesn't mean you aren't a runner. Everyone has to start somewhere, and we will all be at different levels as well as training differently and training for different distances and we will all get there at different rates.


There is nothing to define you as a "real runner". It really shouldn't be a question.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page